VOYA- June 2017 Issue

VOYA ran a review of The Hundredth Queen in their June issue! They said fans of Marissa Meyer and Leigh Bardugo will find this new series captivating. They are two of my favorite authors! I’ve included the full review, but also, here’s the pull quote.

“A gripping plot with twists and turns, a unique setting, and strong female characters—a solid foray into the fantasy romance genre.” –VOYA

Full review:

King, Emily R. The Hundredth Queen, Book 1. Skyscape, 2017. 300p. $9.99 Trade pb. 978-1-5039-4365-0.

This new fantasy series opens with Kalinda and Jaya, eighteen-year-old best friends, sparring in a courtyard of the Samiya Temple. The Sisterhood trains young women to spend their lives as the wives or courtesans of wealthy men known as the Benefactors, but Kalinda and Jaya would much rather remain together in their Temple home in the mountains than be chosen by a Benefactor and separated forever. In spite of their plan to perform poorly in their skills demonstrations, and thus be consigned to remain at Samiya, Kalinda is chosen to be the one hundredth queen of a powerful rajah. In accordance with legend, the one hundredth queen is to be his last, but to secure the position, Kalinda must battle to the death whichever of the rajah’s courtesans wants to challenge her. Mysterious magical rebels, known as the Bhutas, and a handsome, young imperial guard combine to complicate her path to the throne, as well as teach her about herself and her roots.

This title offers a gripping plot with twists and turns, a unique setting, and strong female characters—a solid foray into the fantasy romance genre. Fans of Marissa Meyer and Leigh Bardugo will find this new series captivating.—Laura Lehner.

Advertisements

One thought on “VOYA- June 2017 Issue

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s